Skip to content

The Solution to an Unusually Noisy Summer

July 16, 2010

I don’t know about you, but this summer my life has been bombarded by an unusual amount of noise.

Hated Road Construction

i hate road construction, noise, sights and sounds, sights and sounds inc

First of all, there is the universally detested, never-ending road construction on State Road 23.  I have to drive through this area every day, first to go to class and later to work.  Besides causing traffic jams and getting my car dusty, it is NOISY.  Since the Sights and Sounds store is literally a block from the road construction, I have been hearing a lot of it.  In fact, our store has actually started vibrating as though there was an earthquake on more than one occasion.

Irritating Wildlife

annoying noise, sights and sounds, sights and sounds inc, headphones

Then there’s the squirrels.  Yes, the squirrels.   I live in a neighborhood with an excessive amount of trees, so you see a squirrel pretty much every ten feet.  No one believes me, but these deceivingly cute, fuzzy creatures make The. Most. Annoying. Noise. On. Earth.   Imagine the sound a duck with laryngitis trying to bark would make.  I am not sure if it a mating call or some sort of defense mechanism, but it is AWFUL.  Just listen here.

Untimely Displays of Patriotism

annoying noise, loud, sights and sounds, sights and sounds inc, headphones

Now don’t get me wrong, I love the 4th of July and fully support celebrating our nation’s independence with as many fireworks as possible.   What I don’t understand is the need to shoot off fireworks every day from June 25th to July 20th at two in the morning.  Even George Washington needed his sleep!

Scary Thunderstorms

thunderstorms, scared dog, sights and sounds inc, noise, sights and sounds

Finally, thunderstorms.   This year Michiana has been attacked by thunderstorm after thunderstorm, knocking out the electricity, taking down many trees, and waking me up at night.  My dog, Lucy, is also not a fan, and has taken to hiding under the kitchen table at the first sign of thunder.

The Solution

headphones, noise canceling, noise, sights and sounds

Luckily, I have the solution to this horribly noisy summer!  After my recent discovery of how great headphones can be, I decided to try the JVC HA-NCX77 Noise Canceling Headphones.  That’s right, noise canceling.  They work by having a tiny microphone send out an antinoise signal that is the opposite wavelength of the incoming noise, thus canceling it out.  It’s kind of like this:

noise cancelling, football, headphones, sights and sounds inc

Please forgive me while I take a moment to be proud of myself for using a sports analogy.

Anyway, I tried these noise-canceling headphones out to see if they actually work, and I must say I was impressed.  These nifty headphones are able to cancel out 80% of background noise, which is more than 14dB at 120Hz!  Now, do not expect these to completely wipe out fireworks exploding directly outside your window or a television with its volume cranked up all the way in the very same room as you.  Even Brian Urlacher can’t block everything (that’s two sports references!).  However, they do reduce these noises quite considerably, making them much less annoying and easy to ignore.  And I know you’ll be relieved to find out that I couldn’t hear the squirrel barking at all.  Now they just need to invent a pair for poor Lucy!

headphones dog, noise canceling, sights and sounds inc

What annoying noises could you live without this summer?

Visit our website!  www.sightsandsoundsinc.com

From → Headphones

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

